Diversity at MATH


The Department of Mathematical Sciences wishes to provide an inclusive environment for our staff and students, where diversity is seen as a value in itself. To this end, the Diversity Committee at MATH was established in 2018 with the aim of discussing and detecting possible conscious or unconscious biases towards underrepresented groups, organizing events to celebrate and raise awareness about diversity, and in general to reflect upon diversity, inclusion and equity in the department's activities.

Diversity and inclusion are complex topics, and good discussions require proper data, an interest in understanding the problems to their core, and efforts towards finding the right language in a rapidly changing world. On this page you can find currently available data for our department and study programs and an overview of the activities organized to raise awareness regarding diversity and equity.  

See photos from the event Celebrating Diversity, Sept. 2022.

You are welcome to contact any member of the Diversity Committee if you have ideas for new events, suggestions, etc.




The Diversity Committee was established in 2018 and serves as an advisory body to the leadership of the department. The committee is not formed by experts, but by employees who want to support the professional and personal development of everyone at the department, including students – regardless of their backgrounds and personal characteristics.

Currently, the committee is comprised of:

  • Søren Eilers
  • Elisenda Feliu (chair)
  • Christian Furrer
  • Tinne Hoff Kjeldsen
  • Helle Sørensen
  • Michael Sørensen
  • Nathalie Wahl
  • Sebastian Weichwald