Participants 2017 - click for large photo

Young Mathematicians in C*-Algebras

The University of Copenhagen

August 7-11, 2017

A conference organised for and by master/Ph.D.-students and postdocs in operator algebras (both von Neumann and C*-algebras, despite the name!) and related areas, with the goal of fostering scientific and social interaction between young researchers. The conference will feature two mini-courses by established researchers alongside many contributed talks by participants.

Hosted by the Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Copenhagen, with financial support from the Centre for Symmetry and Deformation (DNRF92).


Kate Juschenko (Northwestern University)

Amenability of discrete groups [abstract KJ]

Guoliang Yu (Texas A&M)

Secondary invariants of elliptic operators [abstract GY]


Contributed talks:

Alongside the mini-courses, the conference will feature many contributed talks by participants. Participants at all academic levels are cordially invited to propose a talk before June 15 (see registration form).



The schedule is also available as a pdf.

Young Women in C*-Algebras (YWC*A):

There will be a mini-workshop in the weekend August 5-6 where all women participating in the YMC*A are invited to speak. The program will also include lectures by Magdalena Musat (Copenhagen) titled "Quantized functional analysis, tensor norms and the Grothendieck program". All YMC*A participants are welcome to attend all the YWC*A talks.

Practical information:

The booklet contains practical information and is available as a pdf.


We hope to be able to provide accommodation (in shared hotel rooms) to a large number of participating students and postdocs. We are regrettably unable to cover participants' travel costs.


More than 100 people are participating in the conference: [list].


Supported by the Danish National Research Foundation through the Centre for Symmetry and Deformation (DNRF92).


  • Matias L. Andersen
  • Sara E. Arklint
  • Kevin A. Brix
  • Chris Cave
  • Martin S. Christensen
  • Olivier Gabriel
  • Valerio Proietti
  • Eduardo P. Scarparo

Credits: Archives of the Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach (K. Juschenko), Guoliang Yu's webpage.