Young Topologists Meeting 2010

The Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Copenhagen will host a meeting for young topologists June 16 - 20, 2010. The purpose of the meeting is to bring together junior researchers and students in topology, such as Ph.D. students and recent Ph.D's, for an informal workshop where participants give shorter (~30 min) talks.

In addition to the workshop talks, keynote lectures will be given by
Jesper Grodal: Homotopical group theory.
Ib Madsen: On the classification of manifolds.
Bill Dwyer: What we talk about when we talk about homotopy theory.

The meeting will begin in the morning on Wednesday 16th and end at noon on Sunday 20th. All talks are in Auditorium 2.


It is possible to apply for support for local expenses, covering roughly the cost of sharing a hotel room. Please indicate in the registration form whether or not you would like to apply for support. Preference will be given to those without access to other sources of funding. The meeting is sponsored by the newly founded Centre for Symmetry and Deformation.


We encourage you to share a room with one or more participants (it's cheaper and more fun). You will need to reserve accommodation yourself, but we will gladly help you to find a roommate among the other participants if you wish. Please indicate in the registration form whether you want help to find a roommate. We will start matching roommates after the registration deadline.

CABINN Scandinavia is an affordable hotel not too far away from the math department. For other alternatives, a list of hotels in Copenhagen is available here.

Travel Information

Information about arrival in Copenhagen, and travel between the airport, Maths Institute and hotels, as well as how to use the city's public transport system, is available here


Please register by filling in the form available here. Deadline for registrations: April 4, 2010.


Here you can find a schedule and the titles and abstracts of the talks.


A list of participants is available here.

If you have further questions about the meeting, please write to .


Tarje Bargheer
Alexander Berglund
Emanuele Dotto