Deligne cohomology workshop – University of Copenhagen

Workshop on Deligne Cohomology and differential characters

University of Copenhagen

 August 2-6, 2010


Topics and purpose:

Differential characters were originally introduced by Cheeger and Simons: they refine integral cohomology classes of higher degree in the same way that complex line bundles with connection refine cohomology classes of degree 2. They have many applications in mathematics and theoretical physics: in algebraic geometry, they are important under the name Deligne cohomology classes, they allow a refinement of the Chern-Weil homomorphism, and they increasingly arise in the formulation of classical field theories with higher gauge fields (and in supergravity). This meeting will bring together a number of experts in different parts of mathematics and physics who use differential characters in their work.

The following will attend:

  • Alexander Berglund (Copenhagen)
  • Paul Bressler (MPIM)
  • Ulrich Bunke (Regensburg)
  • Johan Dupont (Aarhus)
  • Helene Esnault (Essen)
  • Ezra Getzler (Northwestern)
  • Sebastian Goette (Freiburg)
  • Chris Hull (Imperial)
  • Alex Kahle (Goettingen)
  • Jens Kaad (Copenhagen)
  • Franz Kamber (UIUC)
  • Ulf Lindstrom (Uppsala)
  • Jouko Mickelsson (Helsinki)
  • Ryszard Nest (Copenhagen)
  • Urs Schreiber (Utrecht)
  • Sandro Valentino (Goettingen)
  • Maxim Zabzine (Uppsala)

  Registration: Monday, 11:00-12:30

Program and abstracts of lectures and talks :

The lectures will be held at the Department of Mathematics at the University of Copenhagen.

All lectures will be in Auditorium 10

You can find information for short term visitors including directions to the mathematics department HERE .


CABINN Scandinavia is an affordable hotel not too far away from the math department. For other alternatives, a list of hotels in Copenhagen is available here.


Participants can apply for support from our local center "Symmetry and Deformation". You can do so by registering and sending an email to Ryszard Nest at no later than July 15, 2010.


The invited speakers do not need to register.


If you want to attend, and would like to receive support, please register by filling in the form available HERE .

Deadline for registrations: 15/07/10




  Ezra Getzler (Northwestern), Johann Dupont (Aarhus), Ryszard Nest (Copenhagen)